coco loco

I am thanking my lucky stars as opposed to seeing stars after a brief encounter with a coconut. I have a little ritual after my daily swim. I go to the side of the pool near some steps and remove my fins. Then I remove my swim goggles and swim cap. I lean back briefly to completely wet my hair. At that moment yesterday there was a sudden splash in front of me. At first I thought it was a volleyball until the thing bobbled up to the surface. It was a coconut about 6 inches in diameter and it had some weight to it. I was standing in a few feet of water so the hit to my pelvic area caused no pain.

You know, it has been said that “timing is everything”. Had I not leant back at the moment I did, that sucker could have hit me right on the top of my head. It was coming from a very tall (not exaggerating) palm. One man who saw this happen reminded me how lucky I was. At the end of the day I can only think that with all the precautions one takes to be safe, anything can happen.

Motto for today: live it up!