day 9

It is common here in Mexico to use the lavandería for getting one’s clothes washed. It’s handy, especially if one does not have a washer at home; I’m raising my hand as that would be me. Also it helps to support a local business.

Now, as I spend most of my time at home, I find myself washing a few articles of clothing everyday by hand. I have time and I have a traditional Mexican washtub on my patio. One of the best things about this activity is it keeps me from sitting on my butt; a body in motion tends to stay in motion.

Still with all the zen like bonuses of doing something simple and mindless it is work and I end up sweating lots given the warm climate here. I am reminded of how hard my neighbors work for a basic income; one that has been impacted by the cancelling of Semana Santa activities.

I don’t mind the task, but I think it’s time to take the rest of my dirty clothes out to be laundered just to help the local economy. Every little bit we spend at this time really matters.