day 6, plan a, plan b

Imagine having a great job, one that you like and you make enough money to pay the bills. You are feeling pretty good about life. Then in a casual conversation your boss suggests to you that nothing is ever secure. He proceeds to tell you that the popular restaurant you work at is in a rented building and that the landlord is not a healthy person.

I think the purpose of this conversation was to remind me that for anyone life can change at the drop of a dime. It got me thinking. Bill, my boss at the time, a good friend and a mentor, always got me thinking.

This may be the point in my life where I adopted my plan A - plan B scheme. Wherever I was in my life I always had an idea for a backup plan. Usually it was based on my resources, meaning people that I knew. I figured two backup plans were better than one, hence A, B. The usefulness of this scheme is I felt grounded in the present.

Here is a quote by Marcus Aurelius, Meditations.

“Never let the future disturb you. You will meet it, if you have to, with the same weapons of reason which today arm you against the present.”